Why do I wear Hijab

image

I wear hijab because my religion say in the Holy Quran (the holy book) chapter number 24 verse number 31 (And tell the believing women to reduce [some] of their vision and guard their private parts and not expose their adornment except that which [necessarily] appears thereof and to wrap [a portion of] their head covers over their chests and not expose their adornment except to their husbands, their fathers, their husbands’ fathers, their sons, their husbands’ sons, their brothers, their brothers’ sons, their sisters’ sons, their women, that which their right hands possess, or those male attendants having no physical desire, or children who are not yet aware of the private aspects of women. And let them not stamp their feet to make known what they conceal of their adornment. And turn to Allah in repentance, all of you, O believers, that you might succeed.)
   and I CHOOSE to obey it. No one forces me to wear it. I love my long dark brown wavey hair that elegantly touches my hip bones.  And I feel beautiful when I let them down.  And I think its the best thing on my body.  Then why do I choose hijab ? . because it makes me feel confident.  It makes me feel that I’m pure of the bad thing that this world  hold within .  It makes me modest.  It protects me . how ? You may ask.  When a stranger lay their eyes on me they know that there are certain  boundaries they are not supposed to cross.  Hijab comes from a word hijaba . which means to conceal . many of you can identify me as a Muslim as soon as you see me. Hijab frees me from societies expectations of what women should look like . Blond, Red head, Pink hair, fair ,skinny,perhaps a human barbie.  It helps me say that I’m much more then what you see. My physical appearance should be the last thing you notice.  And that is what freedom is .I want to be judged on my personality. And hijab helps me achieve that. And I know the struggle of wearing it.  Some people who don’t wear it see me as a domiciliary person. An introvert weirdo . To them I’m an alien; everything I do and the way I do it is alien.  And to some of them I’m a terrorist.  Some people say that the women who wear hijab are oppressed.  But actually by wearing hijab I’m fighting oppression of people who judge me for how i dress . Me trying to look the way I want is not oppression ;But the young women starving themselves to look like super models is oppression .You feeling the need of a plastic surgery oppressive or me being in control of what part of my body I want to show is oppressive ?  I can feel the weight of people’s eyes when they see me wearing a hijab . I can see people’s expression change from happy to scared because they think I’m a terrorist or at least a security concern . And yes I’m scared that one day I’ll be shot dead because I was wearing a hijab like many other Muslim women .  But still I will not quit wearing it.  I will stand for what I believe in.  In fact that’s what freedom means right ?
    When I was 16.  I was a Muslim because I was born into a Muslim family.  But now I’m a Muslim because I choose to be. The word Islam itself means peace.   I’m a muslimah and I am a humanist,A feminist and I stand with freedom ,love and peace. 
This is what hijab means to my fellow bloggers.
Lisa Marie goigner says “hijab means confidence”
Violeta donosa says “hijab means censorship”
https://sophiesvoiceblog.wordpress.com says ”
For me it’s about the intimacy between women. I have seen my friend ‘uncovered’ and I was moved to tears. She showed me a part of her that I never thought or expected to see.
I will never be able to thank her properly for the faith she showed in me.
Ironically, I’m half Jewish and I tie my hair up or wear it short. It’s supposed to be down for my husband and family and maybe close friends. I don’t think she’s ever seen my hair properly. Religion likes to divide us but women together are so similar. I felt like her sister. We look after each other’s children and all is peace in our community when all around everyone argues and fights…
The Dream Collectors

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Wejdan says:

    Beautifully written!
    ♥️💜♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! This is a really great piece. I guess I never really had an opinion on them, just that they usually had nice fabric. 😉 I loved the reason behind them and totally agree with your thoughts on oppression!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. I am glad you liked it ❤

      Like

  3. lindamlockman says:

    Thank you for sharing such deep emotions and for being unafraid to be who you are! The world would be so dull and boring if we all looked alike, yet underneath everything we are so alike! The saying, “don’t judge a book by its cover” is so true, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you liked it .and thank you for your positive feedback ❤ .the saying Is true indeed.

      Like

  4. megangoodsell says:

    This gave me real insight into what it’s like. I love what you said about taking appearance out of the equation and being seen for who you are inside. I LOVE to hear that you are a feminist, as I honestly never imagined someone wearing a hijab would be. it also shows you have a lot of strength to do what you believe when it’s clearly not always easy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i am so glad you liked it . Muslim women are often misunderstood because they wear hijab. I made this little effort to give people the insight to what hijab means and why women wear it. Thank you for reading <3.much love .

      Liked by 1 person

  5. emy imane says:

    that’s really nice to introduce our religion to people and by the way i also wear hijjab and it’s good thing besides i’d like to know you more . my name is imane from morocco and i’m a muslim too ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Iam glad you liked it. I would love to know you too ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

